2016 Unity Dinner Honors Students, Alumni, Adjunct Faculty


Several John Marshall Law School students, alumni and a member of the adjunct faculty were honored at the 2016 Unity Dinner, which recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the legal community in Chicago.

Third-year John Marshall student Oluchi Ifebi was awarded the Jerold S. Solovy Diversity Scholarship Award, which is awarded to a law student who advocates for diversity within the Illinois legal community and works to bring focus to those who do pro bono work. Oluchi is a Nigerian immigrant whose experiences motivate her to educate others about diversity and the possibilities available through education. Third-year student Stephanie Snow was awarded a bar preparation scholarship. This is Snow’s second time being recognized at the Unity Dinner. Last year she was awarded the Public Interest Advocate Scholarship Award.

John Marshall alums Cecilia A. Horan (’97) and the Hon. Jorge L. Ortiz (’89), along with John Marshall adjunct professor the Hon. William J. Haddad (ret.), all were honored as Advocates for Diversity.

The Unity Dinner is the premier event of The Diversity Scholarship Foundation. Now in its 14th year, the dinner honors those who have made significant contributions to the legal community and the community at large, including embracing diversity and the ideals diversity represents.  The DSF is a not-for-profit organization that provides scholarships to diverse and deserving law students. The DSF also provides free continuing legal education seminars on a wide range of topics.

Cookie Settings