Law School Named a Top Producing Institution of Fulbright Scholars


The John Marshall Law School in Chicago has been named a top producing institution for Fulbright U.S. Scholars. John Marshall was one of only four schools in the country, and the only law school in the Midwest, to be listed as a top producer in the specialized institutions category.

The lists are compiled by the State Department’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, in collaboration with the Institute of International Education, and are organized by Carnegie Classification. Fulbright Scholars are faculty, researchers, administrators and established professionals. Top producing institutions are those who have sent the most U.S. scholars abroad on the Fulbright program.

This year, two members of John Marshall’s faculty were named Fulbright Scholars, Michael Schlesinger and Mark Wojcik. Schlesinger, a current adjunct professor and former Director of John Marshall’s Business Enterprise Law Clinic, was to be a Visiting Professor for the 2018-2019 academic year at Palacký University in Olomouc, Czech Republic. There, he lectures students on the role law school business law clinics play in helping to build restorative economies in low to moderate income communities.

Mark Wojcik, a John Marshall faculty member since 1992, was appointed to be a Fulbright Scholar at the University of Bari in Italy. He teaches public international law, private international law and international organizations. He is also conducting research on Italian compliance with European Court of Human Rights decisions.

This is Wojcik’s second time participating in the Fulbright program. Last year, he was a Fulbright Specialist at the Jigme Singye Wangchuck School of Law in Thimphu, Bhutan. The Jigme Singye Wangchuck School of Law is the first law school in the history of the Kingdom of Bhutan, a country of 750,000 people located between China and India.

Wojcik is also the founder of the Global Legal Skills Conference Series, the author of multiple books, the current president of Scribes—The American Society of Legal Writers and a three-time board member of the Legal Writing Institute. He is the past Chair of the Association of American Law Schools Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning and Research and a winner of the AALS Section Award for lifetime contributions to legal writing education. In 2018, he received the prestigious Burton Foundation Award for Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education.

Since its inception in 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 390,000 participants—chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential—with the opportunity to exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns. Over 2,000 U.S. students, artists and early career professionals in more than 100 different fields of study receive Fulbright U.S. Student Program grants annually to study, teach English, and conduct research overseas, and more than 800 U.S. scholars, artists and professionals teach or conduct research overseas through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program annually.

Cookie Settings