John Marshall Announces New Faculty Administrators


The John Marshall Law School has promoted seven faculty members to leadership roles.  Professors Julie Spanbauer, Marc Ginsberg, Ardath Hamann, Samuel Jones, Hugh Mundy, Joanne Hodge and Susan Brody have all been appointed to new positions.

Julie Spanbauer has accepted the position of Vice Dean for Academic Affairs. In her new role, Spanbauer will supervise John Marshall’s Academic Services and Financial Aid offices, oversee the academic curriculum, handle academic discipline and serve as the Dean’s designate when she is not available. She will also continue teaching courses such as employment discrimination, contracts and lawyering skills. Spanbauer joined the John Marshall faculty in 1990. She holds a B.S. from the University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh, a J.D. from Valparaiso University School of Law and an LL.M. from Northwestern University’s Pritzker School of Law.

Marc Ginsberg has been promoted to Associate Dean for Graduate & Center Programs. As Associate Dean, Ginsberg will oversee John Marshall’s Education & Research Centers. These include John Marshall’s Chinese IP Resource Center, the Center for Intellectual Property, Information & Privacy Law, the Center for International Law, the Center for Real Estate Law and the Center for Tax Law & Employee Benefits. Ginsberg will be responsible for working with center directors and John Marshall’s admissions’ staff to recruit new graduate students, administer graduate programs, coordinate compliance with programs at other universities and help coordinate international programs, exchanges, visitors and study-abroad programs. He will continue to teach evidence, civil procedure and medical negligence. Ginsberg received his B.A. from the University of Illinois at Chicago, his M.A. from Indiana University, his J.D. from John Marshall and his LL.M. from DePaul University College of Law.

Ardath Hamann has been named Associate Dean for Faculty Development. For this position, Hamann will work closely with Spanbauer and the Adjunct Faculty Committee to coordinate the hiring, training and review of adjunct professors. She also will help coordinate academic conferences and symposia at the law school. Like Spanbauer, Hamann will continue teaching. As a member of John Marshall’s faculty since 1984, she teaches administrative law, antitrust, estates and trusts, corporations and lawyering skills. Hamann received her B.S. from Purdue University, her J.D. from The College of William & Mary’s Marshall Wythe School of Law and her LL.M. from John Marshall.

Samuel Jones has been named Associate Dean for SCALES & Inclusive Excellence. SCALES is John Marshall’s alternative admission program designed to offer candidates specialized training while providing the law school a means to appraise each candidate’s potential to successfully negotiate the rigors of law school in today’s exceptionally competitive climate. Jones will develop and oversee strategic and operational plans to identify and help recruit diverse students and members of the full-time or part-time faculty. He will also collect, track, analyze and present data related to diversity initiatives at the law school. Jones will continue to teach criminal law and contracts. Jones completed his undergraduate degree at Chaminade University of Honolulu. He holds a J.D. from Texas Southern University, Thurgood Marshall School of Law and an LL.M. from Columbia Law School.

Hugh Mundy will lead John Marshall’s nationally-recognized Center for Advocacy & Dispute Resolution as its new director. In this position, Mundy will oversee the law school’s trial advocacy and ADR curriculum, as well as manage the trial advocacy and alternative dispute competition teams and administer John Marshall-hosted competitions. Mundy, a former Assistant Federal Public Defender, joined the John Marshall faculty in 2012. He will continue teaching evidence, advanced scientific evidence, criminal law and lawyering skills.  A graduate of the University of Notre Dame, Mundy received his JD degree from Columbus School of Law at Catholic University of America where he was a Charles & Louise O’Brien Public Interest Fellow and a Dulin-Hayes Law & Public Policy Fellow.

Joanne Hodge will work closely with Mundy as the new Director of John Marshall’s Moot Court Honors Board. As part of her responsibilities, Hodge will interview all student candidates for the law school’s Moot Court Executive Board, coach multiple moot court teams, manage the program’s budget and recruit other moot court coaches. Hodge came to John Marshall as a visiting professor in 2004 and joined the full-time faculty in 2006. She teaches employment law, disability law, lawyering skills, appellate writing, contracts and alternative dispute resolution. Hodge is a graduate of Swarthmore College and Northwestern University’s Pritzker School of Law.

Finally, Susan Brody has been named Faculty Liaison for Alumni Engagement. In this role, Brody will help promote the law school with alumni by strengthening existing relationships with them and by cultivating new connections. She will help identify alumni who are willing to support the school in multiple ways.  Brody will also work on specific projects and events with individual alumni and John Marshall’s Alumni Association. Brody joined the John Marshall faculty in 1982 and teaches civil procedure and feminist legal theory. She holds a B.S. from Ohio State University and a J.D. from Chicago-Kent College of Law.

Cookie Settings