Center for International Law Hosts 16th Annual DiCarlo Lecture

Dean Darby Dickerson

John Marshall’s Center for International Law hosted the 16th Annual Dominick L. DiCarlo U.S. Court of International Trade Lecture on November 14. The Hon. Gary Katzmann, chief judge of the U.S. Court of International Trade, was this year’s guest lecturer.

Katzmann has extensive experience serving the public as a federal prosecutor and appellate judge. During his lecture, he discussed how his experience led him to the U.S. Court of International Trade and how it has transformed his work.

The afternoon also featured two panel discussions on international trade and ethics. The first panel focused on how NAFTA works. Brian Walsh of Barnes Richardson and Colburn LLP served as the moderator, while the Hon. Mártin Caro Sánchez from Proméxico Trade and Investment and Greg Kanargelidis served as panelists. The second panel focused on ethical and practical guidance for internal investigations and featured John Marshall alumnus Lawrence Friedman, also of Barnes Richardson and Colburn, as moderator and panelists Jim Doppke of Robinson Law Group LLC and Marjorie H. Loeb of Mayer Brown.

The Dominick L. DiCarlo Lecture Series was established in 2001 in honor of Judge Dominick L. DiCarlo. DiCarlo served as a federal judge from 1984–1999. The DiCarlo Lecture Series welcomes a judge from the U.S. Court of International Trade to lecture on the role of the federal courts in shaping and litigating customs and trade law disputes.

Cookie Settings