1L Monica Masini Awarded Hon. Timothy C. Evans (’69) Scholarship

Monica Masini, a first-year student at UIC John Marshall, has been awarded the 2020 Honorable Timothy C. Evans Scholarship. The award was presented virtually to Masini at the Annual Meeting of the Northwest Suburban Bar Association (NWSBA) on Thursday, May 21.

“I am honored and grateful to be the 2020 recipient of the Honorable Timothy C. Evans Scholarship,” said Masini. “Thank you to the Northwest Suburban Bar Association Foundation for having an impact on my path to accomplishing my goals of graduating law school and becoming an attorney. I truly appreciate this recognition and will strive to uphold the purpose of this scholarship through public service and professionalism.”

The Evans Scholarship was established to honor the commitment and dedication that the Chief Judge of the Circuit Court of Cook County, Timothy C. Evans, has devoted to the NWSBA and to the community of Cook County. Evans’s tireless commitment to public service and his passionate pursuit of legal excellence and integrity mirror the very virtues embodied by the NWSBA and its esteemed membership. Evans is also a 1969 graduate of the Law School.

The Evans Scholarship is awarded through the NWSBA Foundation and made available to local students through voluntary contributions from members of the NWSBA. Stephen G. Daday, a 1980 graduate of the Law School, is the current president of the Foundation. Factors that are considered when awarding scholarships include scholastic achievement, leadership skills, involvement in school activities, involvement in community service, extracurricular activities and financial need.

Masini grew up in Palatine, Illinois, and attended undergrad at Carthage College, where she was on the women’s basketball team, a member of the college’s Model UN, and Crew Captain and Head of Public Relations of the Carthage College Love Your Melon Organization. Love Your Melon is an apparel brand run by college students across the country on a mission to give a hat to every child battling cancer in America.

Cookie Settings